Indonesia currently has several national TV stations that cater to a wide range of viewers. The history of national TV stations in Indonesia began with the establishment of TVRI (Televisi Republik Indonesia) in 1962. TVRI was the first television station in the country, marking a significant milestone in the history of Indonesian television.

For nearly 27 years, TVRI was the only television channel available in Indonesia. It wasn't until 1989 that the government allowed the broadcast of RCTI (Rajawali Citra Televisi Indonesia) as the first private national television station in Indonesia.

Initially, RCTI broadcasts were only accessible to those with satellite dishes and decoders, limiting its viewership. It wasn't until March 21, 1992, that RCTI officially became available to the general public. This marked a turning point in the history of national television in Indonesia.

Following the introduction of TVRI and RCTI, several other national TV stations emerged, including SCTV (Surya Citra Televisi), MNCTV (formerly known as TPI), ANTV, Indosiar, Metro TV, Trans TV, Trans7, Global TV, and TVOne. The presence of these stations has had a significant impact on various aspects of Indonesian life, including the economy, politics, culture, and national defense.

Here are some of the national TV stations in Indonesia:

TVRI (Televisi Republik Indonesia): TVRI, established in 1962, is the first television station in Indonesia. It originally aired in black and white and covered events such as the 17th Independence Day ceremony at the Istana Negara in Jakarta. TVRI has the broadest coverage, reaching all regions of Indonesia.

RCTI (Rajawali Citra Televisi Indonesia): RCTI, the first private national TV station in Indonesia, began broadcasting in 1988 and was officially inaugurated in 1989. It started as a subscription-based service but transitioned to free-to-air broadcasting in the early 1990s.

MNCTV: MNCTV, formerly known as TPI (Televisi Pendidikan Indonesia), was launched in 1991 and renamed MNCTV in 2010. It was initially established as an educational television channel but later transitioned into a general entertainment channel.

SCTV (Surya Citra Televisi): SCTV started broadcasting in Surabaya, East Java, in 1990, and became a national channel in 1993. It has 47 transmission stations and reaches approximately 175 million viewers in 240 cities.

antv (Andalas Televisi): antv, which stands for Andalas Televisi, was founded on January 1, 1993, in Lampung. It initially served as a local TV station but later received a national broadcasting license.

Indosiar: Indosiar, launched on January 11, 1995, is known for promoting Indonesian culture and has broadcasted traditional wayang puppetry shows. It also airs Asian dramas.

MetroTV: MetroTV, owned by PT Media Televisi Indonesia, began airing in Jakarta on November 25, 2000. It operates as a 24-hour news channel.

These national TV stations have played a significant role in shaping Indonesia's media landscape and have become a vital source of information and entertainment for millions of viewers across the country.

aboutlivetv blendedpage jobsictpage fudanedupage loketpage mixtvmy edudippage mods modslivetv uaptc hypothes TV Malaysia Online smaratungga wakelet disqus qooh dermandar intensedebate metal coub veoh telegra docker instapaper roll20 wefunder bahamaslocal kemdikbud renderosity recordsetter nowewyrazy google hatena lindsey sie sie sie journals worldcosplay yolotheme docs pastes huggingface fimfiction alkaffah threadless trello groups speedrun gotartwork sketchfab credly kzncomsafety pantip p-tweets justpaste justpaste anotepad artmight recode theverge polygon racked eater rosalind artistecard letterboxd roleplaygateway viki speakerdeck atlasobscura runnerspace page runnerspace weddingbee openstreetmap writeablog quora gab demilked leetcode coub blogtalkradio ezistreet longisland doodleordie mapleprimes djtechtools docker tableau disqus behance indiegogo unsplash answerpail writeablog